Facebook Battling The Cambridge Scandal
‘It’s Time to Make Our Privacy Tools Easier to Find’
“Facebook will give people new ways of seeing and deleting the data it collects on its users.”
In the past couple of weeks we found out about the Cambridge Analytica Scandal. Cambridge had retained copies of private data of over 50 million Facebook users. In 2015 it was promised to Facebook this data would be deleted but unfortunately no such thing took place. Cambridge and several of its associates have been banned from Facebook.
While the scandal may still be happening, the social network are working as hard as they can to ensure safety of all users for their most sensitive and personal information.
New features are being added over the next few weeks that it will change the terms and its data policy of Facebook and all their users. New ways of deleting what’s been collected will be introduced to people, stopping further information being harvested. Those tools will allow people to delete data selectively, as well as removing their account entirely.
“Some people want to delete things they’ve shared in the past, while others are just curious about the information Facebook has,” it wrote. “So we’re introducing Access Your Information – a secure way for people to access and manage their information, such as posts, reactions, comments, and things you’ve searched for. You can go here to delete anything from your timeline or profile that you no longer want on Facebook.”
In addition to redesigning its settings menu on mobile devices, Facebook said it is creating a new privacy shortcut menu where users would be able to better secure their accounts and control personal information. It would also allow users to review and delete data they have shared, including posts and search queries.
Users would be able to download the data shared with Facebook, including uploaded photos, contacts added to their account, and posts on timelines.